Photo: Halona Blow Hole Hawaii

You are here

Hawai‘i State Department of Education

The Hawaii State Department of Education is the only statewide public school district in the country. It comprises 255 schools on six islands, educating about 175,000 students in Grades K-12. (There are an additional 34 charter schools and 10 adult education schools.) About 12,000 teachers and another 13,000 support staff are charged with educating and caring for Hawaii’s children.